Regular Board Meeting Summary (1)

Regular Board Meeting Summary
Posted on 06/27/2018
Regular Board Meeting Summary FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

High Prairie, Alberta – The Board of Trustees met on Wednesday, June 20th for their regularly scheduled board meeting and organizational meeting.

Trustees began by discussing the upcoming Alberta School Boards’ Association (ASBA) Zone 1 meeting and Edwin Parr banquet which is being held in Peace River on September 12th. Also recognized are the Friends of Education nominees. The zone consists of 9 school boards covering nearly 50% of the province with a combined enrollment in excess of 34,000 students. It represents Public, Separate, and Francophone school authorities.

Trustees then reviewed a trustee code of conduct questionnaire by ASBA. Discussion often returned back to the questionnaire asking leading questions and often referencing suggested practices and procedures that are already in place by High Prairie School Division.

A transportation survey was presented to Trustees at the Spring ASBA meeting. Discussion on the survey surrounded the potential change to busing regarding the eligibility by distance. Trustees noted that the eligibility by distance as presented did not take into account rural school authorities whereby it would not be reasonable to refuse busing to students in Grade 6 and above who live within the 1.6-2.4 km distance from their designated school. Remote locations with limited walkability are the reality and norm for many, if not most, rural schools.

The Board then received delegations from the Directors of Facilities, Technology, and Transportation. Each provided a summary of the year and an update on upcoming projects. Facilities Director Lionel (Butch) Gagnon noted the tendering for janitorial services in Slave Lake, LED exterior light replacements, and boiler replacements in the west end. Technology Director Sascha Klingsch discussed concerns over the Alberta Supernet contract set to expire at the end of this month as there has been no forthcoming information from the Alberta Government on the successful candidate. The Board approved a recommendation by Director Klingsch to purchase services from Xplornet to ensure the Learning Support Centre and Facilities building do not lose internet connectivity should there be a disruption of services as a result of changing service providers. The system would later act as a fail-over for both locations. Lastly, Trustees heard from Director of Transportation Harry Davis. Davis noted that they are currently recruiting for open driving positions across the division. They are also planning to perform a bus audit to more strategically plan bus procurement. Harry also advised that Northland School Division has opted to use another service provider for their bus maintenance in the area.

Trustees defeated a motion to sponsor the Northern Lakes College golf tournament later this summer.

Trustees tabled a discussion on a letter from the Village of Donnelly regarding paving in front of Georges P. Vanier School. The Village of Donnelly has asked for assistance with the cost of paving with regards to the parking area that is directly in front of the school. Trustees tabled the discussion to allow time for them to provide a cost of the paving.

Trustees then went into closed for the remainder of their regular meeting. They exited their closed meeting to begin their organizational meeting.

Tammy Henkel was acclaimed to continue her role as Board Chair; Joy McGregor was also acclaimed to continue her role as Vice Chair. Tammy Henkel was also appointed to continue as the HPSD representative for TEBA.

The date for the 2018-19 Long Service Awards has been set for Friday, May 24th, 2018. The Board also set the following day for the 2019 Bus Roadeo. Board meeting dates were also set until June 2019 and will be posted on the HPSD website. The next organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees will be before their regular Board meeting in June 2019.

Trustees elected to add the Rural Caucus Committee to their standing list; the Rural Caucus Committee will consist of one trustee and one alternate.


click here for printable pdf and list of committee members
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.