ASBA Zone 1 Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards Banquet

ASBA Zone 1 Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards Banquet
Posted on 10/03/2016
Martin Deerline nominated as HPSD Friends of Education Award RecipientPeace River, Alberta – Division Trustees and members from Executive Council attended the 2016 ASBA Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards Banquet in Peace River on September 22nd. High Prairie School Division was pleased to announce Martin Deerline of High Prairie as the Division’s award recipient. Board Chair Tammy Henkel delivered the following statement of support for the company which has been a strong supporter of HPSD and its students.

Martin Deerline has mentored countless RAP and work experience students over the years. They have always provided a welcoming and positive environment for students who are interested in small engines and/or agricultural equipment. They are also one of very few employers willing to train more than one student at a time.

Students who work at Martin Deerline in any capacity learn valuable, lifelong work skills. They are treated respectfully, and while held to high standards, are well-supported by the employer. RAP students pursuing a trade often continue with Martin Deerline after graduation and become journeymen who are supported economically and professionally while working towards their certification.

Martin Deerline has demonstrated to our students and to our community the importance of entering into a partnership with our division to foster student education and overall development. They understand the benefit to the student and the community of supporting students to stay in school. They provide hands-on, authentic, and meaningful learning experiences for each student they mentor.

Martin Deerline is known in the community as a solid, well-respected business that supports both education and community goals. High Prairie School Division is honoured to have them as our nominee for the ASBA Friends of Education award.

The winner of the Edwin Parr award for outstanding first-year teachers was awarded to the nominee from Holy Family Regional Catholic Division, Eric Gilmour, pictured bottom right. Congratulations to all Friends of Education award recipients and Edwin Parr nominees for their outstanding commitment to education.


Click here for printable PDF
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.