Laura Wuth Named HPSD Edwin Parr Nominee

Laura Wuth Named HPSD Edwin Parr Nominee
Posted on 03/29/2018
Laura Wuth Named HPSD Edwin Parr NomineeFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Falher, Alberta – Laura Wuth of École Routhier School is the 2018 HPSD nominee for the Edwin Parr award. The Edwin Parr award is given to a first-year teacher who goes above and beyond in the duties normally expected of a teacher.

“Laura creates a safe and caring classroom environment through effective procedures and routines. Transitions throughout the lesson never disrupt student learning and Ms. Wuth holds all of her students accountable to her collaboratively designed expectations in a respectful manner that honours the student’s dignity. Student learning is the focus of all activities that Ms. Wuth plans. Students are moving through the room using technology effectively and working in flexible groups in a manner that meets the needs of all learning styles. As you watch Ms. Wuth teach she provides the proper support and guidance through effective questioning strategies and individual support with students and small groups during work periods. Her feedback to students is timely and students are always aware of the learning objective and the steps that need to be taken to meet those objectives.

Ms. Wuth works collaboratively with school administrators and community service providers to provide supports for her struggling learners and high achievers. The relationships she has developed with all stakeholders is respectful and professional. Ms. Wuth creates ongoing feedback loops and communication processes to ensure that both students and parents are aware of the strengths and areas of growth for individual students.” stated John Wiedrick, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources.

Two other teachers were candidates for the nomination. Brock Whalen from Georges P. Vanier in Donnelly and Jesslyn Alguire from E.W. Pratt in High Prairie were two other outstanding first-year teachers who embodied the qualities of an Edwin Parr nominee.

High Prairie School Division would like to applaud all candidates for this prestigious award. Congratulations to Laura Wuth as our nominee for the Alberta School Boards Association 2018 Edwin Parr Teacher Award!


click here for printable pdf
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.